Government , Candidates

Fifteen candidates file for the 2016 Osage Congressional Election

Election Day is June 6 and the Osage people will have 15 candidates to choose from. The candidates are vying for six seats on the Fifth Osage Nation Congress.

This election year marks the lowest amount of Congressional candidates the Osage Nation has ever had since the new government was ratified in 2006.

All six incumbents are running for re-election, which include: Shannon Edwards, John Jech, John Maker, Archie Mason, RJ Walker and Maria Whitehorn. Running again are W. Jacque Jones, Danette Daniels and Hank Hainzinger. Running for their first time are: Myron Red Eagle (he served on the Second Osage Minerals Council), Fidelis Davis, Rebekah HorseChief, Brandy Lemon, Joe Tillman and Michael Bristow.

Tribal members age 18 and older with an Osage tribal membership card are eligible to vote on Election Day, or take advantage of early voting.

The Osage News will hold a Candidate Debate on April 30 at the Osage Casinos-Skiatook from 1-5 p.m. The event will be catered by Osage Casinos and streamed live by the ON Communications Department.

Important dates for the 2016 Election Year:

  • April 30 Osage News Congressional Debates, Osage Casinos-Skiatook, 1-5 p.m.
  • May 2 Deadline to submit Absentee Ballot Request forms to the Election Office
  • May 3 Absentee Ballot mailing begins
  • June 3 Early Voting Day 1, from 12 p.m. to 8 p.m. Election Office
  • June 4 Early Voting Day 2, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Election Office
  • June 6 Election Day, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wah-Zha-Zhi Cultural Center 

Before the Election Board can certify the candidate list, each candidate is subject to a background check by the ON Attorney General’s office.

The list of candidates in the order they filed:

  1. Myron Red Eagle
  2. W. Jacque Jones
  3. John Maker
  4. Fidelis Davis
  5. John Jech
  6. Archie Mason
  7. Maria Whitehorn
  8. Rebekah HorseChief
  9. Brandy Lemon
  10. RJ Walker
  11. Danette Daniels
  12. Shannon Edwards
  13. Hank Hainzinger
  14. Joe Tillman
  15. Michael Bristow

The Osage News will provide election coverage throughout April and May. Stay informed by following the Osage News on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. Visit our website at for important 2016 Election updates.